About Orana

Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs) are well-established, proven-safe and cost-effective anesthesia providers. Oregon currently has more than 350 CRNAs serving Oregonians in all care settings, 40% of whom practice in the non-metropolitan and rural regions of Oregon. ORANA itself dates back to 1935 and is the professional association for CRNAs who preside or practice in the region. Nearly 93% of all CRNAs working in Oregon belong to this professional organization.

Who are Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNA's)?

CRNA's are anesthesia specialists who administer anesthetics for surgical, obstetrical and other operative or pain management procedures.

Prior to being "certified" as a registered nurse anesthetist, a CRNA must:

  • Complete a baccalaureate registered nursing education.
  • Gain significant experience in critical care nursing.
  • Complete a 2-3 year anesthesia clinical residency.
  • Successfully complete the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists' certification exam.

Rural Communities

CRNA's provide over 80% of the anesthesia in Oregon's rural communities. This includes the coast, central and eastern Oregon, as well as many of the small rural hospitals in the Willamette Valley. The rural Oregon CRNA frequently serves alone in his or her community as the anesthesia and resuscitation expert.

Metropolitan Communities

CRNA's practice in a variety of arrangements in the metropolitan area. In hospitals they may practice independently, or they may practice in a CRNA/Anesthesiologist collaborative manner. CRNA's also practice in Ambulatory Surgery Centers, Dental and Medical offices